When you open My Computer you see floppy disk drives, hard drives and DVD drives. Lots of space is wasted in that window and you have to click several times to reach the location that you wanted to. If you do have folders on your hard drives that you use over and over again you might want to consider creating folder drives which would make them appear as drives in My Computer.
The main benefit is of course that you can access those folders much faster without having to click several times. Windows has a build in command line tool that can do this but I prefer to use XSubst which has a graphic user interface and offers the same functionality.
The user selects an available drive letter in Xsubst and clicks on the Connect button afterwards. This opens a Browse for Folder window. Just select the folder that you want to display as the drive letter that you have selected before. Those links between the drive letter and folder are not permanent unless you press the Permanent button in XSubst.
The permanent setting and the drive letter can be removed again in Xsubst as well. I use Xsubst mainly for two folders that I access several times a day, saves me some time every time I access them this way.
29.4.13
25.4.13
Look Up or Back Up Google Chrome Saved Passwords
Google Chrome saves passwords used in web forms and log ins. You can manage these saved passwords as well as view them (to jog your memory) from within Google Chrome’s Options menu.
Backing Up Google Chrome Saved Passwords
Close all Google Chrome windows. Then, navigate to the Google Chrome AppData folder in Windows Explorer. Usually at: C:\Users\[yourusername]\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default
Locate the Login Data file and copy it to your preferred backup location.
- Launch Google Chrome. Click on the Wrench icon in the top-right and Click Options.
- Click the Personal Stuff tab. Scroll down to Passwords and Click Managed saved passwords…
- This will display all of the passwords that Google Chrome has saved. When you first view them, the password values will be masked. But you can display them by selecting an entry and Clicking Show.
Backing Up Google Chrome Saved Passwords
Close all Google Chrome windows. Then, navigate to the Google Chrome AppData folder in Windows Explorer. Usually at: C:\Users\[yourusername]\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default
Locate the Login Data file and copy it to your preferred backup location.
22.4.13
Outlook Quick Parts - insert frequently used text automatically
If you write certain things again and again when e-mailing contacts, you can save time using Outlook Quick Parts.
- Create a quick part by highlighting some typed text that you'd like to save as a quick part.
- Click the Insert tab and choose Quick Parts in the Text group of the Ribbon. A drop-down menu appears.
- Choose Save Selection to Quick Parts Gallery. The Create New Building Block dialog box appears.
- Type a new name for your Quick Part if you don't like the one you see.
The suggested name might be fine, but you may prefer something else. You can also assign a category and description to your Quick Part, but that makes very little difference in how you use it, so you can leave that alone.
Click OK
After creating a Quick Part, you can make it appear in an e-mail body in a flash: Click Quick Parts in the Ribbon and click the Quick Part you want.
18.4.13
BT Wi-Fi - opt out if you use a BT Home Hub Router
https://www.bt.com/wifi/secure/index.do?s_cid=con_FURL_btfon
All BT Broadband customers get free, unlimited wi-fi. In order to use BT Wi-fi, your BT home hub needs to be opted in to share your home broadband with other members of the BT Wi-fi community. This is what creates a wi-fi network for you to use when you are out and about.
All BT Total Broadband or BT Infinity customers who have joined since March 2009 will already be members of BT Wi-fi unless they have opted out.
Should you choose to opt out you will have to reset your router a few days after opting out to stop your router being available on the BT Wi-Fi network
All BT Broadband customers get free, unlimited wi-fi. In order to use BT Wi-fi, your BT home hub needs to be opted in to share your home broadband with other members of the BT Wi-fi community. This is what creates a wi-fi network for you to use when you are out and about.
All BT Total Broadband or BT Infinity customers who have joined since March 2009 will already be members of BT Wi-fi unless they have opted out.
Should you choose to opt out you will have to reset your router a few days after opting out to stop your router being available on the BT Wi-Fi network
15.4.13
Opt Out of Tracking on iPhones with iOS6
iOS 6 comes in a default “tracking on” position. You have to affirmatively switch it off if you do not want advertisers to see what you’re up to.
The tracking control in iPhone’s settings is NOT contained where you might expect it, under the “Privacy” menu. Instead, it’s found under “General,” then “About,” and then the “Advertising” section of the Settings menu.
The tracking control is titled “Limit Ad Tracking,” and must be turned to ON, not OFF, in order to work. That’s slightly confusing — “ON” means ads are off! — so a large number of people will likely get this wrong.
The tracking control in iPhone’s settings is NOT contained where you might expect it, under the “Privacy” menu. Instead, it’s found under “General,” then “About,” and then the “Advertising” section of the Settings menu.
The tracking control is titled “Limit Ad Tracking,” and must be turned to ON, not OFF, in order to work. That’s slightly confusing — “ON” means ads are off! — so a large number of people will likely get this wrong.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)